

The Mizoram Gazette

EXTRA ORDINARY Published by Authority

NOTIFICATION

No. H. 14011/ 3/ 2012- DCA (C), the 30th January, 2013. Whereas it was decided to raise the number of elected members of the District Council of Chakma Autonomous District from 17 to 20, for which a Delimitation Committee was constituted under Rule 8 of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (Constitution, Conduct of Business etc.) Rules, 2002, as amended from time to time, vide this Department's notification No. H.11022/3/2012- DCA (C) dt.15.10.2012 for the purposes of dividing the Chakma Autonomous District Council into 20 (twenty) territorial constituencies to be filled up by election and therefore, for delimitation;

And whereas the said Committee submitted its draft proposal on 7.12.2012 which was notified in draft form by this Department vide No. H. 11022/3/2012- DCA (C) dt.8.1.2013 for information of general public of the Chakma Autonomous District and inviting objections, if any, and the same was duly published in consonance with sub-rule (2) of Rule 8 of the above mentioned Rules, 2002 as amended from time to time.

And whereas the objections and comments received from the public were given due consideration by the Governor;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-rule (3) of Rule 7 read with sub-rules (1) and (2) of Rule 8 of the above mentioned Rules of 2002, as amended from time to time, the Governor of Mizoram is pleased to order that for the purposes of next elections to the Chakma Autonomous District and until further order (s), the Chakma Autonomous District Council shall be divided in 20 (twenty) MDC Constituencies in the manner as specified in SCHEDULE to this notification.

The Governor of Mizoram is further pleased to order that the SCHEDULE to this Notification shall form part and parcel of this Notification and this Notification shall take effect immediately on expiry of the tenure of the existing Chakma Autonomous District Council.

P. Singthanga,

Secretary to the Government of Mizoram, District Council Affairs Department.