

## The Mizoram Gazette EXTRA ORDINARY Published by Authority

 RNI No. 27009/1973
 Postal Regn. No. NE-313(MZ) 2006-2008

 VOL - XLV
 Aizawl,
 Wednesday
 23.11.2016
 Agrahayana
 2,
 S.E.
 1938,
 Issue No. 504

## **NOTIFICATION**

No. B.14015/3/2015-SEC/VC/CPI, the 17<sup>th</sup> November, 2016. WHEREAS, in exercise of the power conferred by Section 3 (7) of the Lushai Hills District (Village Councils) Amendment Act 2014 and Rule 3 (1) of the Mizoram (Election to Village Councils) Rules 2014, the State Election Commission had called upon MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) Village Council Constituency, to elect members of Village Council on 23<sup>rd</sup> August 2016 vide Notification No.B.14015/3/2015–SEC/VC/LC/CPI dt. 27<sup>th</sup> July 2016. Accordingly, election to 5 (five) members of Village Council under MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) (4 (four) General seats and 1 (one) Reserved seat for woman was held on 23<sup>rd</sup> August, 2016.

WHEREAS, counting of votes was held immediately after the poll was over, and in exercise of the power conferred by **Rule 77** of The Mizoram (Election to Village Councils) Rules 2014, the Returning Officer of MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) Village Council Constituency published an Election Result forthwith as under.

<u>SI.No.</u>	<u>Name of Candidate</u>	Party Affiliation	Votes Obtained
1.	Lalzarmawia	INC	304
2.	F. Lalchhanhima	INC	242
3.	Kawlchungnunga	INC	205
4.	F. Lalzemawia	INC	201
5.	T.C. Lalrinawma	IND	200
6.	Ralkapliana	MNF	187
7.	Biakpianga	ZNP	138
8.	J. Rodinga	MNF	127
9.	C. Lalengliana	MNF	122
10.	Tlangmuanpuii 'R'	IND	242
11.	Lalmuanpuii 'R'	INC	233

**AND, WHEREAS**, Pu T.C. Lalrinawma, an Independent candidate for By-Election to Village Council – 2016 under MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) Village Council Constituency having grievances, submitted an **election petition on 26<sup>th</sup> August, 2016** under Rule 84 of the Mizoram (Election to Village Councils) Rule 2014 and paid Rs. 300/- as petition fee on the following point.

1. Dissatisfaction with the counting of votes and its subsequent counting (re-count).

## Ex-504/2016

THEREFORE, in exercise of the power conferred by Rule 86 of The Mizoram (Election to Village Councils) Rules 2014, the State Election Commission vide No. B.14015/3/2015-SEC/VC dt. 31<sup>st</sup> August 2016 constituted an Election Tribunal for MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) Village Council to consider the aforesaid election petition.

AND WHEREAS, the Election Tribunal heard all concerned officials in connection with the election to MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) Village Council Constituency including the Petitioner, the other candidates and counting agents and thoroughly examined all election documents. And whereas, after due examination of the case, the Election Tribunal conducted re-count of the ballot papers in the presence of the Petitioner, other candidates and all concerned. The result of the re-count established that the INC candidate Pu F. Lalzemawia is the winning candidate and is entitled to Village Council seat of Khawzawl-I (Electric Veng) Village Council. Therefore the Election Tribunal, in exercise of the power conferred by Rule 89 (2) of The Mizoram (Election to Village Councils) Rules, 2014, Dismissed the Election Petition.

**NOW, THEREFORE,** the **State Election Commission** in exercise of the powers conferred by Rule 89 (4) of The Mizoram (Election to Village Councils) Rules, 2014 hereby notify the decision of the Election Tribunal in that, the result of MZ-VC 04/39 Khawzawl - I (Electric Veng) Village Council Constituency declared by the Returning Officer is to be maintained **STATUS QUO**.

L. Tochhong, State Election Commissioner, Mizoram.