

The Mizoram Gazette

EXTRA ORDINARY Published by Authority

RNI No. 27009/1973 Postal Regn. No. NE-313(MZ) 2006-2008

Re. 1/- per page

VOL-XLII Aizawl, Saturday 9.2.2013

Magha 20, S.E. 1934,

Issue No. 63

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No.576/EXIT/2013/SDR

Date: 7th February, 2013 Magha,1934(Saka)

NOTIFICATION

Whereas, the schedules for the General Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland and bye-elections to fill 9 casual vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of Assam, Bihar, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal were announced by the Commission vide press note No. ECI/PN/1/2013 dated 11 January, 2013;

And whereas, as per the provisions of Section 126A of the RPAct, 1951, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of such exit poll during such period, as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard;

And whereas, the General Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland and bye-elections to fill casual vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of Assam, Bihar, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal have been announced together, the ban on exit polls shall start from the date' and the time of commencement of the poll on the first day of poll and continue till half-an-hour after closing of the poll on the last day of poll;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-Section(I) of section 126 A of the RP Act, 1951, the Election Commission having regard to the provisions of sub-Section (2) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between 7.00 A.M on 14/02/2013, i.e, the first day of poll in Tripura, and 5.30 P.M on 24/02/2013, i.e, the last day of poll for the bye-elections to fill casual vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of Assam, Bihar, and Maharashtra, as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the current General Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Tripura, Meghalaya & Nagaland and bye-elections from 8-Algapur Assembly Constituency in Assam, 131- Kalyanpur (SC) Assembly Constituency in Bihar, 271- Chandgad Assembly

Ex-63/2013 - 2 -

Constituency in Maharashtra, 8-Chalfilh (ST) Assembly Constituency in Mizoram, 73- Moga Assembly Constituency in Punjab, 340- Bhatpar Assembly Constituency in Uttar Pradesh, 51- English Bazar, 70-Rejinagar & 293- Nalhati Birbhum Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal shall be prohibited.

It is further clarified that under Section 126(I)(b) of the RP Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll in connection with aforesaid General/Bye-elections.

By order,

Ashish Chakraborty, Secretary.